Morning Coffee and the Blog Roundup 11/1 – Can’t Wake Up Edition

Seriously. Had trouble going to sleep last night, then woke up at 5:30 and couldn’t go back to sleep. Oh the burdens I bear…

Halloween party went well Saturday night, even if I had to shift gears on my costume after some damage to my bald cap. I went from Tor Johnson to a corporate zombie. I went for a trial run on Friday at work, and ended up with this:

I mean, that’ s okay and all. But I saw what needed to be changed and was able to put this together Saturday night:

So, eh. Good weekend and all. Found some cards at a thrift store. Nothing incredibly major, but turned up some die-cuts from the late 90s and a huge stack of 2009 SPx cards. Guess someone busted a box and donated the base cards. It felt so wrong to see it there…I just had to give it a home, and I figured some folks might need them. No Nationals in that pack, but I did find a nice 93 Stadium Club rainbow/foil/whatever those things were of Dennis Martinez.

Giants are closing in on winning the World Series. I’m rooting for them, and even I’m shocked. Oh, and I’m sick of hearing the crap about how the ratings would be better with the Phillies and the Yankees. So what if it would? That doesn’t mean it would have been a better series.

Could this possibly be the most poorly photoshopped DVD cover ever?

The reason there’s not a whole lot of baseball card content here is because it was kind of a quiet weekend on that front for a variety of reasons; with the holidays approaching, money priorities have shifted. I did score the entire 2010 Topps Debut Nationals team set, which I’ll be posting in the near future (hopefully tomorrow), but most of my card-based activities have been related to getting my cards into albums. I’ve seen a few cards that I think I should cover here soon enough.

So, let’s take a look at what everyone else has been saying!

  • Bad Wax started his brag photo series with a PAINFUL cut. I’m going to love this series, I can already tell.
  • The Card Corner Club informed us that Upper Deck had postponed (more likely canceled) 2010 SP Prospects baseball.
  • Nachos Grande advocated contests as a method of increasing blog popularity. Hmmm. May have to go for that myself one day…
  • Wrigley Wax concluded the 1990 Topps TV series with the prospects that made it and the prospects who didn’t make it (some of these guys, not so much prospects really. Bob Bafia? Please.).
  • The Priceless Pursuit shows us just how stylish Paul Sorrento was. I was so blind!
  • Flywheels opened a pack of 2010 Obak at A Pack to Be Named Later. Hey, I opened one of those this weekend, too! Pulled crap, but they’re fun cards.
  • Grand Cards reflected on Brandon Inge making the Tigers’ Man of the Year.
  • Night Owl Cards contemplated color-coding refractors to holidays. Psst, I made some mock-ups of his suggestions:

 

Christmas edition

 

 

Valentine's edition

Easter edition

 

  • The Greatest 21 Days featured John Flaherty and Johnny Paredes.
  • Padrographs had an autograph from the reclusive Brad Pounders. Is he still a potato farmer?
  • My Cardboard Mistress “made” a “trade” with “the collective troll”.
  • Night Owl continued the card back countdown with 1966 Topps (that’s pink).
  • Orioles Card “O” the Day featured Tripper Johnson. Saw this guy play at Frederick in 2004 and he was a beast. I always wondered what happened to him. Football, eh?

And that does it for today. Have a good one.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Roundup

3 responses to “Morning Coffee and the Blog Roundup 11/1 – Can’t Wake Up Edition

  1. Heh, very nice. I actually contemplated doing that myself.

  2. chemgod

    Cool, thanks for the mention of Brag Photo of the Week. I need more entries, so if you have a story let me know!

Leave a Reply

