Trade with Night Owl Cards

I’ve read Night Owl’s blog faithfully for quite some time; in fact, he was one of the first bloggers I read when I discovered that baseball card blogs existed. So it was quite natural that I wanted to trade with him at some point, I just hadn’t figured out what I had that he might want. When I saw that he had received a Devin Thomas swatch card from a care package and was offering it for trade, I knew what had to be done.

I received his cards in the mail yesterday, and let me tell you: there were a lot. Thankfully, I needed about 80% of what he sent me, so he hit a real sweet spot with me. But due to the sheer quantity, I’ll have to only showcase a relatively few cards and hit the others when I get to their respective slots.

So let’s split them up. First, the vintage!

1974 Topps

Tim Foli’s glasses are amazing. I really need to post about him sometime.

1975 Topps

Should have seen a 75 coming!

1977 Topps

And somewhere in between the vintage and modern stuff lies a zone…we call this zone The Ultimate Mustache Zone.

Look at that thing!

Now, on to the second group: players for whom I had never owned a card.

2006 Upper Deck

No idea how Matthew slipped by, but here he is.

2008 Tristar

Steven was one of those prospects I always meant to get and just never got around to. Now I have him!

2009 Upper Deck Piece of History

Montz is another Matthew LeCroy. Just slipped through the cracks.

1997 Select

Hell, I’d never even heard of this guy, let alone owning one of his cards!

2010 Topps Heritage

I think this is one of only two major league cards Stammen has, so I’m not down on myself for not having him.

Okay, that’s that for the “new guys”. Last, I’ll just take a look at a couple of cards that I liked.

2006 Opening Day

This one flat-out shocked me. I had no idea there were cards with Rasner in a Nationals uniform, and he wasn’t in the main 2006 Topps set. Nice get!

2006 Turkey Red

Always grateful for some Turkey Red.

2010 Topps Gold

My first 2010 Topps Gold Nats card. Think I may collect the team set now.

All in all, an awesome trade! Your cards are in the mail, Night Owl! Thanks again.

4 Comments

Filed under Mail Call, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Trade with Night Owl Cards

  1. Rasner is in the main ’06 set. He’s number #323.

    http://www.toppscards.com/BaseballCard.aspx?CardID=35936

    I’m sure I’ve got that card. I could send that if I remember.

    Glad you needed a few!

  2. Tim

    Wow…that is quite the stache. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

