2009 O-Pee-Chee and O-Pee-Chee Black #5

Time to bring it on home…

I was so disappointed when Willingham got injured earlier this year. Josh has been a damn good hitter for this team, and while I wonder why it took him so long to get to the majors, I’m grateful his free agency is still a ways off. I could see him being a boon for the team through 2012.

And, of course, Ryan Zimmerman. What Nationals team set would be complete without Big Zim? A couple of fine additions to my PC.

Finally, what may be my favorite card of these sets: the black Nationals Park card. I don’t know, there’s just something about it that speaks to me. I guess it may be because I’ve seen that view so much? I don’t know, but I dig it.

So, let’s rate this set…

Design: 6/10 (white) 7/10 (black) – The white design is so boring it’ll put you straight to sleep, but I think the black design has a bit more bite to it. I think they should have just made the set black to begin with, honestly. It’s why I went ahead and bought the parallel set.

Player Choice: 6/10 – Covers the basics, but some bizarre choices. Steven Shell? Mike Hinckley? Where are players like Jesus Flores or Colin Ballester?

Photography: 4/10 –My big quibble with the set. The studio shots have grown on me a bit, but the few action shots are pretty boring.

Total: 6/10 (white) 7/10 (black) – Mediocrity abounds, with the black set just a notch above mediocre. Still, I don’t regret getting the sets; it’s possibly the only chance I’ll get to own a Steven Shell card, even if the choice is baffling.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 O-Pee-Chee

Leave a Reply

