2009 O-Pee-Chee and O-Pee-Chee Black #3

Oops, looked back and realized I missed a player on my last entry, so here he is:

I’ve written about Mike as a failed prospect, but here he is finally on a Nationals card. Unfortunately, he continues the trend of players who are no longer Nationals; he spent the majority of last year in the Texas system, and is in Baltimore’s system this year, his pitching somewhat average. I wonder if he’ll ever make it back. Oh, and I don’t know how I feel about the rookie banner on these things. I suppose it harkens back to simpler times, but I’m just not crazy about the design.

Good old John. He’s been pitching a LOT better since coming back from an injury in early August; he’s 5-2 since August 1st, and has looked like a different pitcher. I’m guessing the injury was holding him back earlier in the season.

I really thought Shairon had a shot at being something special even after an uneven season last year, but this year he’s kind of sucked at AAA, and I’m wondering if he’ll ever climb back up to the majors with all the pitching talent on deck. I mean, it’s a good problem to have, but it is a problem.

I think we can turn the lights out on Lastings Milledge’s hope to be a superstar at this point. He’s 25 and seems to have hit his ceiling as an average bat in CF. I guess the power’s just never coming. Definitely one of the more disappointing players that I’ve encountered in my years.

So today we have one player who was on the ML roster for the Nats this year: John Lannan, while Shairon Martis continues to labor in the minors. Man, the turnover for this year was nuts. No wonder it felt like I was watching a different team the other day. I was!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 O-Pee-Chee

Leave a comment