1989 Upper Deck #2

This is a little better already. This is the kind of shot that, I think, was kind of rare before Upper Deck. Yeah, you got the posed Spring Training shots, but when I look at this, I feel like I’m getting a little slice of what Spring Training is really like. I can see how the sun is reflecting off of things far better than in other cards of the era, and I can imagine myself right down on that field, somewhere where fans are most likely never allowed or get a glimpse of. I guess it’s that cheesy thing of bringing you “closer to the game”, but a shot like this made me feel it.

And you definitely didn’t see shots like these in the 80s cards, though I’m aware some 70s sets had them, and Score approached this. Great shot. And by the way, that’s Mike Scioscia, future Angels manager, on the ground there.

Is this another shot at Chavez Ravine? It kind of looks like it to me. This card would be a lot better if you could see Andres’ eyes, or if he was more the center of the card rather than being offcenter. The Tim Raines in this set would suffer from the same problem.

And then of course, Upper Deck had the HUGE upgrade from the Diamond Kings set with Vernon Wells Sr’s team checklist cards. I have to admit this is not my favorite of Wells’ work for UD, but it’s passable, and it was like nothing we’d ever seen before back when the set came out.

And finally, another high number. As a child of the 80s, I was unfamiliar with the high number concept, so this set just blew me away when it was issued. This is another card I’ve already covered on NatsTown, so we’ll just leave it at that.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1989 Upper Deck

Leave a Reply

