Finds and Sales: Indiana Jones Box

In the course of my thrifting Saturday, we came across a very curious box. At first glance, it looked like just a common thrift find, but I quickly realized it was a sealed box of 2008 Topps Heritage Indiana Jones. For nine bucks. It retails at 40! I snapped it up.

An Extremely Blurry Pic of the Box.

Of course, with the chance of an autograph or sketch card, I had to break this bad boy.

This is what the packs looked like.

The cards themselves were what you would expect: it’s a set of the cards from the original three movies on thicker card stock with new facts on the back, including a subset of movie posters and concept art that totally rocks. I’ll probably scan some of these in the near future. But the real treasure of the box was this:

Short Round Sketch Card 1/1

I was initially confused by the 1/2 at the bottom but my guess is that’s the date, as the back of the card says 1/1. Holding one of these in my hand, I totally understand how people get into them. The artist is Amy Pronovost, who did 187 different cards for the set. I like her style a lot, very cute stuff. She’s done a lot of work for other sets, so I’m honored to have one of her sketches. Awesome stuff! I’ll be looking to get more, I believe.

2 Comments

Filed under Finds and Sales

2 responses to “Finds and Sales: Indiana Jones Box

  1. This card is the left half of a 2-card panel. Your card features Short Round from Temple of Doom. I was unable to figure out who is the character on the right half. It looks like it’s inside the temple viewing the dais or related to the mine car chase.

Leave a Reply

