Finds From The National Part 2: Vintage Boogaloo

Carrying on…

1970 Topps

I’ve always had a fondness for 1970 Topps. When I was young, around 1990, we had an older friend who had collected these as a kid and had a huge stack of them. He would trade them around and we were thrilled to receive them. I really like the simplicity. Nowadays, i also appreciate that it’s one of the rare sets that has both Expos and Senators. Here are the other Senators/Expos I got:

I especially like that last card. Check out the people in the background, especially the clothing. Fascinating.

Now on to 1971. I somehow lucked into a 71 Tom Seaver when I was young and still have it to this day; it’s one of my most treasured cards, even if it’s not in the best of shape. I’ve always had enormous respect for Tom and so I liked the 71 set, but it’s not the same as the 70 for me. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s the black borders? The set has a very utilitarian feel to me, though 1970 is the epitome of such an approach and it draws me. Perhaps it’s the nostalgia factor itself.

Now on to a set of cards I’d never owned before: 1972. Oh, sure, I’ve had my chances over the years to pick them up, but I could never quite bring myself to do it. I just thought the team names at the top were too unsightly. Strangely, seeing them so much on other blogs has brought me around and I actually like them.

2 Comments

Filed under 2010 National Convention, Vintage, Washington Senators

2 responses to “Finds From The National Part 2: Vintage Boogaloo

  1. I like the Darold Knowles card. The Green Monster in the background, the smile on his face, and the MLB patch on his uniform just do it for me for some reason.

Leave a Reply

