John Olerud 1991 Cards #2

One end-of-the week post to go, and I figured I’d tackle some more 91 Olerud cards. Just as a note, this is definitely not meant to be a definitive overview, but rather what I have in my albums so far…

1991 Fleer

Dear lord, I abhor the 1991 Fleer set. There’s just nothing appealing to it for me. The yellow borders are god-awful, the line design looks more fitting for a textbook, the photography ranges from blah to downright awful, and the card stock renders the photos themselves even muddier. I hope whoever came up with this was not in the baseball card business long. That said, this isn’t a completely terrible card; the shot is kind of nice (if blurry).

1991 Fleer Ultra

That’s more like it. While it may not have the flash or grace of later Fleer Ultra issues, I have a soft spot for the first issue. It’s like an awkward baby who shows promise, and I think this card itself is just pretty, even if you can’t see John’s face. The blues just balance so nicely, and I even like the placement of the Ultra logo. Definitely one of the better 1991 issues.

1991 Leaf

Or, how to take a good concept and smother it in its sleep. I LOVE 1990 Fleer to this day, and even have this pie-in-the-sky idea of collecting the entire set one day, as expensive as that might be. But 1991 Fleer? Ugh. I guess I get what they were going for, but this seems like a far more drab, oppressive border, and it takes a significant portion of real estate that was dedicated to the photo  in the 1990 issue.  Throw all those issues on top of a boring photo, and I just don’t care for this card at all.

1991 O-Pee-Chee Premier

This is not my beautiful O-Pee-Chee. I still plan to acquire his regular-issue OPC from that year, but ugh. What a busy, ugly border. The photo is even darker than this scan shows, and I don’t like the back of the card, either. I’ve come to the conclusion that 1991 was just not a good year for baseball cards at all. Thankfully, there are still a few decent issues to come.

Leave a comment

Filed under John Olerud

Leave a Reply

