Failed Prospect: Danny Rueckel

2005 Leaf Certified Materials Mirror White

For the longest time, I thought I missed out on Danny Rueckel’s time in Washington before I realized that he just never made it, which, oddly enough, was when I covered him as one of the first players I on this blog. At the time, I wasn’t sure how many Rueckel cards were out there, but I stumbled across this one late last summer and never got around to covering it before I took my hiatus. I’m pretty sure he’s out of baseball now, as the last mention I can find of him anywhere is 2007, the same time his stats stop. It’s a bit surprising because he wasn’t a *bad* pitcher, just didn’t have the gaudy numbers of others. I wonder if he got injured?

Either way, even though this card isn’t worth a lot, I still like it. I’m a sucker for the Mirror White parallels and it’s neat to see an instance of those godawful Spring Training uniforms from that first spring. I’ll have to see if I can find some more Nats from this set.

Leave a comment

Filed under Failed Prospects, Nats Failed Prospects

Leave a Reply

