Finds and Sales

Welcome to a new weekly column! I’m really excited to do this, as I’m something of a part-time eBayer. I hit up thrift stores, yard sales, and pawn shops for suitable items to sell on eBay and supplement my income. I think I do okay at it (even if July has been a rough month). I come across some very…odd items. And some very unique items, like this plaque of Crosley Field that ended up going for a decent price:

Found it for 80 cents.

I only just considered the idea of covering some of my sports-related finds on the blog, but I think there are some potentially very cool ideas lurking out there; for instance, I found a Wayne Gretzky autographed Upper Deck card and a sealed 1986 Donruss Rookies set on the same trip, so why not cover them here, as well?

I sometimes also try to check and see if some items have been listed on eBay for less than they’re worth, and have come across a few real gems that I’ve flipped, such as this Sweet Spot card that I got for 1.50:

Really, is that a great foursome or what?

I was very tempted to hold on to this baby, but business demanded it go. Really though, one of these guys is a lock for the HOF, at least Halladay is a pretty likely at this point, and I think Wagner may eventually make it. Not bad at all.

So what else have I found? How about this:

Yes, that's a Roger Maris bear.

I have no idea WHY a Roger Maris bear exists, but it does, and I found it last weekend at a thrift store. I’m putting it up for sale this week (no links, I’m not eBay whoring here), and I’m very curious to see if anyone wants it. I kind of doubt it, but who knows? I think it’s kind of a neat little find.


Yeah, it’s a Beltran McFarlane miniature figure. I have absolutely no idea why the label is upside-down, but it ended up selling for a decent price. I’ve actually found Beltran to be a fairly common thrift store find, for some reason. Could it be that he fell from grace with Mets fans or something? No idea.

I shipped this one out today; it’s an Andrew McCutchen “canvas wrap”. They gave these out a Pirates game back in May, and this thrift store had about four or five sealed copies. I ended up busting it open to see if I could clean that black smudge off the canvas, but no dice. It still sold for a decent amount, but I’m sure a mint, unopened would go for more. Too bad none were in that condition.

This was another eBay find, possibly one of the most exciting ones I’ve ever come across. I paid $1.50 for it, and regrettably it ended up going for a dollar. How? I don’t understand how a card with some of the best players in baseball could go for so cheap. It was frustrating, and I haven’t really dipped into that well since, as I’d have preferred to just hold onto it for that.

Finally (for this week):

That’s a limited Cal Ripken lithograph print that was sold at Camden Yards. I recognized it, as I have a similar Miguel Tejada. Just shipped this out the other day to a happy buyer.

But wait, you ask – haven’t you found Nationals stuff, living in the DC area?

Oh my, yes, I have, I’ve just kept that for myself…and I’ll cover that in a different column.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finds and Sales

Leave a Reply

