The 1988 Project – Day Seven – Roberto Alomar – Significant Rookie (Now)

Okay, so last time we looked at XRCs of a future HOFer, so let’s take another look at rookie cards of a future HOFer (at least, he should be). Man, I was high on Robbie Alomar back in 1988, and I collected his cards for a time in the late 90s. I thought he was a future HOFer even then, and well worth the time of gathering his cards, which was especially easy when my friends didn’t think he was that great. So let’s take a peek at his…I don’t know what these are classified as, given that he was in an 88 set to begin with. Ah, well, who cares?

1988 Donruss Baseball's Best

This is one of two cards in this batch that I never owned during my first whirl at collecting, and I’m a little disappointed, because I think it’s actually a pretty damn great card and an example of how, for once, those hideous orange borders can work. But yeah, no idea this thing existed until much later, and it’s probably for the best, since I never saw these sets back then and would’ve died knowing I couldn’t have it.

1988 Donruss The Rookies

Of course, Alomar had a regular Donruss card in 1988 (he had one hell of a mustache going), so he was one of those odd players who makes both sets. I always preferred this to the regular Donruss issue, as the pose was better and he looks a lot more alive than the regular Donruss card. It was definitely one of my more treasured cards back then, though nowadays I think the Baseball’s Best is a lot sharper.

1988 Fleer Update

Aww, Robbie looks sad. This was never my favorite Alomar rookie, and I think it’s a combination of it being a pretty common shot and, yeah, him looking sad. I don’t have any particularly outstanding memories of this card, and there’s just not a whole lot to say about it. It’s a card. It exists. Blah.

1988 Score Rookie and Traded

Awww yeah. Now that’s what I’m talking about. Man, I lusted after this card way back when, and I never got one until now. Great action shot (that was uncommon for an Alomar rookie, as you can see), decent design to work with the photograph, and of course the whole rarity of it all. I used to look at that card under the glass in card shops and wish I had the money to scrape together to get it. Now I have it – and to some extent, isn’t this hobby about feeding our inner children?

1988 Topps Traded

You know, this should be just a generic, yawn shot, but there’s something about this card that is iconic for me and I just can’t put my finger on exactly why. Just looking at it stirs some emotions and nostalgia.

So that covers Roberto Alomar. Next time we’ll look at a 1988 World Series hero. Bet you know who I’m talking about, right?

15 Comments

Filed under The 1988 Project

15 responses to “The 1988 Project – Day Seven – Roberto Alomar – Significant Rookie (Now)

  1. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 15 – Tom Brunansky « NatsTown

  2. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 16 – Bryan Harvey « NatsTown

  3. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 17 – Joey Meyer « NatsTown

  4. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 18 – John Dopson « NatsTown

  5. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 19 – Brett Butler « NatsTown

  6. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 20 – Randy Milligan & Tommy Gregg « NatsTown

  7. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 21 – Mackey Sasser « NatsTown

  8. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 22 – Cecil Espy « NatsTown

  9. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 24 – Ricky Jordan « NatsTown

  10. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 25 – Ray Knight « NatsTown

  11. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 26 – Henry Cotto « NatsTown

  12. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 27 – Craig Worthington « NatsTown

  13. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 28 – Tommy Herr « NatsTown

  14. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 29 – Kurt Stillwell « NatsTown

  15. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 30 – Melido Perez « NatsTown

Leave a Reply

