2008 Upper Deck Timeline 1992 Flashback Pt. 3

I’m in the home stretch of completing this subset now…I think I only have one or two more cards that I need for it (I completely filled out two pages of the set last night and it was glorious). So. Let’s take a look at a few more cards from the set.

Votto.

With today being the All-Star Game, it seemed appropriate to lead off with Votto. Votto made the game at last, and uh…it seems kind of messed up that he had to be the last man added, given that he currently leads the NL in OBP, SLG, OPS, and OPS+ and is tied for the lead in home runs. Shouldn’t that be a no-brainer? The guy is kind of good. Anyway, I love this card. Nice, subdued shot – action but it doesn’t beat you over the head with it, and the color balance is nice, even if they’ve again applied that 1992 Upper Deck Mannequin Filter.

What

The first time I saw this last name, I thought “you must be kidding me, right?” Even in 2008, I’d never heard of the guy, which I guess makes sense, given that he was a low-round Cleveland pick who only made the majors as 28-year-old. This set has some damn odd choices for rookie cards, that’s for sure. Van Every seems to have bounced up and down between Boston and Pawtucket for the last few years, but I have a feeling he won’t stick long-term. One thing I like about this set is the photography; they went back to basics here with some old-school Upper Deck action, and I like it.

Now a Devil Ray.

Yeah, Matt Joyce was part of the deal that brought Edwin Jackson to the Tigers (before he was shipped off). It looks like his rookie year in Detroit was half-decent (a 2.2 WAR for a 23-year old outfielder isn’t bad), actually, so he was a decent choice for this set. Unfortunately, he seems to have gone downhill since then with Tampa Bay, but he’s only 25 so he still has time to pull it out.

The Edwin Jackson Connection lives.

And since we mentioned Edwin Jackson, this set also has the man that came from Arizona to Detroit for him. I’ve always had a good feeling about Scherzer, but it looks like he’s kind of been iffy for Detroit so far. Could it be the adjustment to the AL’s much more difficult offenses? Maybe. Could just be a down year, too. I guess we’ll see how he is after the All-Star Break. This card is my favorite of the ones pictured here. Good action shot? Check. Nice color choices? Check. Goofy pitching face? Check.

I received a big pack of these yesterday, so I’ll be writing about them more soon, as well as some other throwback-style sets that I’ve begun collecting.

2 Comments

Filed under 1992 Flashback, 2008 Upper Deck Timeline, Throwback Sets

2 responses to “2008 Upper Deck Timeline 1992 Flashback Pt. 3

  1. I don’t know which of these cards you may still need but I’ve got a bunch for trade (I have a full list on my blog).

    • Thanks! I think the last two I needed were the Brandon Phillips and Russell Martin, which I ordered this morning, but I’ll double-check tonight and let you know, maybe we can work something out.

Leave a Reply

