The 1988 Project Day 6: Craig Biggio (Relevant Rookie Now)

Well, let’s take a look at the first of some future and current Hall of Famers in the 1988 Update sets. I’ve always had a strange fondness for Craig Biggio, despite him being an Astro. Something about him seemed like an underdog; he was small and unheralded, at least among my friends, and I liked the way he played the game. Unfortunately, he only made it into two update sets that year.

1988 Fleer Update

If you look up “baseball card” in the dictionary, I swear you see this. I’ve racked my brain for something interesting to say about it, and I’m just coming up empty. It’s just kind of there. Though it does feature the awesome 80s Astros uniform, so I can’t down on it too much. Back in the day, this was kind of the definitive Biggio XRC, as I’ve said before that the Score set was completely out of reach for us. So, while this card is completely unremarkable, the sight of it brings memories rushing back for me. I vaguely remember trading my copy of it, but I’m not 100% certain that happened back then.

1988 Score Rookie and Traded

Man oh man did I want this card back in the day. It was pure gold. And hell, I still like this card. I was more than excited to see it when I first went through the box. As for the card itself…I still think it’s excellent. I love the shot, as it captures the tension of Biggio waiting for a pitch, especially with the expression. I’m also a sucker for the double-flapped helmet for some reason, so I like this just for that. The color balance is excellent with those orange borders matching up nicely with his uniform. I’d love to know who that is in the background, but there’s just not enough information. Ah, well.

So two classic cards from a surefire hall of famer. My next choice is possibly borderline, but I think he’ll make it in. We’ll look at him soon.

16 Comments

Filed under The 1988 Project

16 responses to “The 1988 Project Day 6: Craig Biggio (Relevant Rookie Now)

  1. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 15 – Tom Brunansky « NatsTown

  2. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 16 – Bryan Harvey « NatsTown

  3. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 17 – Joey Meyer « NatsTown

  4. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 18 – John Dopson « NatsTown

  5. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 19 – Brett Butler « NatsTown

  6. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 20 – Randy Milligan & Tommy Gregg « NatsTown

  7. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 21 – Mackey Sasser « NatsTown

  8. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 22 – Cecil Espy « NatsTown

  9. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 23 – Willie Upshaw « NatsTown

  10. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 24 – Ricky Jordan « NatsTown

  11. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 25 – Ray Knight « NatsTown

  12. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 26 – Henry Cotto « NatsTown

  13. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 27 – Craig Worthington « NatsTown

  14. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 28 – Tommy Herr « NatsTown

  15. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 29 – Kurt Stillwell « NatsTown

  16. Pingback: The 1988 Project Day 30 – Melido Perez « NatsTown

Leave a Reply

