2008 Upper Deck Timeline 1992 Flashback Pt. 1

It’s a mouthful, that’s for sure. Being a sucker for a certain era AND baseball card design elements, my ears perk up anytime something is done with the designs from my collecting heyday. As such, you’re going to see a lot of these kinds of things appear here, and I’m trying to put together a set of the 2008 Upper Deck Timeline 1992 Flashback cards. 1992 Upper Deck was one of my least-favorite design of the early 90s Upper Deck sets, but a lot of that had to do with the bizarre effect they put on their photographs, as seen here:

He looks like a mannequin, no?

To be sure, some cards in this set still have this effect, and most don’t. It certainly improves the design a bit. Oh, and I have a few Tyler Clippards that I think I’ve shown before, so let’s look at the non-Nationals.

Here’s an example of the effect used in this set, but compare it to the Ryan and you can see they’ve toned it way down. I love the composition here; the colors work really well together, and the blue in the background really pops. It’s also just a great picture of the one Yankee player that I can still stand (albeit not a Yank here).

Poor Scott Kazmir. I’ve liked the guy for a long time, but he’s really fallen off the cliff thanks to injuries. It sucks, and it also sucks to be an Angel because…well, Angels and all. Anyway, I like the picture, I like the card.

Okay one last guy for today. I knew nothing about German Duran before picking up this card. Looks like he hasn’t played in the majors since 08, when he knocked out a mindnumbing -0.9 WAR. That’s right, a random AAA player would have done better. So what’s he done since then? Oh, had a .167/.233/.215(!) slash across three teams in 2009, but has rebounded somewhat as a 25-year old in AA this year. I’m willing to bet he never makes it back to the Majors, but at least he got a lot more than most players.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1992 Flashback, 2008 Upper Deck Timeline, Throwback Sets

Leave a Reply

