Expos Star: Cliff Floyd #1

Floyd Metal

1996 Metal Universe #191

How Did I Get It?: Bought it on checkoutmycards.net
Did You Know?: Floyd’s father, a former Marine, worked double shifts at a U.S. Steel plant in Chicago to allow the family to live in a safe and stable neighborhood.
Rating: 7/10 – So Cliff Floyd is in a forest. Okay. I’ll roll with this. Why not? This was one of those periods in baseball cards that I missed out on, yet always amused me when scanning other blogs. I HAD to have one. And it’s as addled an idea as the others. Thanks, Todd MacFarlane!

Floyd 92 Bowman
1992 Bowman #678
How Did I Get It?:
Bought it on checkoutmycards.net
Did You Know?: Floyd was a three-sport star in baseball, football, and basketball in high school. In basketball, he led his high school to the Class AA Sectional Playoffs.
Rating: 9/10 – Haha, just another one of those “what-the-hell” moments from early 90s cards. I remember people going nuts for this card back in the day. Now it’s just funny as hell.

Floyd 92 Score

1992 Score #801
How Did I Get It?:
Bought it on checkoutmycards.net
Did You Know?: In 1997, Floyd was traded from the Expos to the Florida Marlins for Dustin Hermanson and Joe Orsulak. Good job on that one, Expos.
Rating: 3/10 – Ew. I was always interested in draft pick cards, but this one was just a horrid mess. The color scheme looks like mint chocolate chip ice cream melted on it, and he’s just floating out there in space.

Floyd SP

1993 SP #277

How Did I Get It?: Bought it on checkoutmycards.net
Did You Know?: In 2002, Floyd was traded from the Marlins back to the Expos, with Claudio Vargas, Wilton Guerrero, and cash, for Graeme Lloyd, Mike Mordecai, Carl Pavano, Justin Wayne, and Donald Levinski. Haha, I don’t even know.

Rating: 10/10 – Now that’s what I’m talking about. I loved the prospects from this set. Such a classy design.
Leave a comment

Filed under Expos Stars

Leave a Reply

