Nationals Also-Ran: Aaron Boone

Boone

Aaron Boone
2008 Topps Update #UH259
Position:
3B/1B
Bio/Summary: Aaron Boone always seemed like the lesser Boone brother, even with his postseason heroics. I mean, he was decent – probably average for a third baseman, and that’s nothing to scoff at, but when the Nationals signed him, my first question was “Why? We have Ryan Zimmerman!” (boy, did that signing prove prophetic), and my second question was “why? He’s Aaron Boone!” I didn’t even realize he was still in baseball at the time, and he didn’t show much in 2008, managing a titanic 77 OPS+. Of course, I feel I’m kicking him a little when he’s down, given the open-heart surgery. I don’t wish him ill or anything – I just hope he never comes back to the team. Is that mean? I don’t know. I don’t think so.
How Did I Get It?: In a trade.
Did You Know?: On the last day of the 1998 season, the Reds helped him make baseball trivia history by starting the only infield ever composed of two sets of brothers: first baseman Stephen Larkin,  Bret Boone,  Barry Larkin, and Aaron.
Rating: 4/10 – First impulse, as always, is to check the knob of the bat. That’s what Billy Ripken did to me. After that, meh – he looks slightly drunk, and it’s a boring Spring Training shot in an awful set.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nationals Also-Ran

Leave a Reply

