Memory Lane #11: Expos Leaders 1988 Topps

88 Expos Leaders

Welcome back from the weekend. This feels like an odd one to lead off a week with, mostly because I feel that, aside from perhaps 1990 Donruss, 1988 Topps is the set for which I have the most mixed feelings. I feel it’s a really ugly set (not measuring up to the hideousness of 1990 Topps, but still), but it was the first set that I ever collected. I can still recall seeing my friends’ 88 Topps cards in the backyard and being incredibly envious. I think I started buying packs within the next few days, and I’m almost positive this was one of the first cards I pulled. I remember us making fun of Vance Law over and over during that summer, and seeing him on this card was even funnier.
 
So, seeing this card reminds me of that long-ago summer, 21 years ago – the smell of fresh-cut grass as we invented some game or another, discovering my love of music, and discovering baseball cards. It’s a simple memory, but it means a lot to me.
Leave a comment

Filed under Memory Lane

Leave a Reply

