1982 Topps #2

Dawson
1982 Fleer #187
Category:
Expos Star
Position: OF
Bio/Summary: I’ve talked a lot about Andre before, so I’m not going to belabor some of my other points (Hall of Famer? Probably not – but pretty damn rockin). 1982 was a decent season for the Hawk, but a little bit of a letdown after 1981. It’s hard to sniff at a 132 OPS+, but his OBP was down from the previous year, as was his SLG. Still, I wouldn’t mind having him on my team.
Rating: 7/10 – I like Andre Dawson a lot, and man, are his cards from this era hilarious. His hair was just out of control, though the background here kind of dampens that. Still, nice card.
 
Francona
1982 Fleer #188
Category:
Expos Also-Ran
Position: OF/1B
Bio/Summary: Of course Terry’s known more for his managerial record these days, but I remember a time when he was a player – and it doesn’t seem that long ago that I pulled him from a pack of 1990 Upper Deck. In 1982 Terry was in his Sophomore season, and managed a .321 BA with an OBP-heavy .703 OPS. Not too shabby, but not world-killing, either. I can see why he didn’t last years and years in Montreal, but he did well enough.
Rating: 4/10 – Wow, he looks so young here. I like the pose, for some reason – it’s almost a cliche, but not quite. My guess is it’s seeing the other player in the background and knowing that shot was taken during BP. I really wonder if the majority of these pictures were taken together.
 
Fryman
1982 Fleer #189
Category:
Expos Lynchpin
Position: P
Bio/Summary: Woody was at the end of a fairly mediocre career here (two All-Star appearances notwithstanding). In 1982 he went 9-4 with a 3.75 ERA and  97 ERA+. See that, that’s exactly why ERA and W-L are so misleading – he was actually somewhat below average that year.
Rating: 6/10 – Not too sure about the pose, but it’s cool to see the old-school TV camera beside him and the dugout behind him. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a card with a player sitting on the edge of the dugout like that.
 
Gullickson
1982 Fleer #190
Category:
Expos Lynchpin
Position: P
Bio/Summary: You know, I was a bit surprised to find that Gullickson was not as bad as I had thought. He had some thoroughly decent years in there. 1982 was more of an average one, though. He had a 102 ERA+ and went 12-14 with a 3.57 ERA.
Rating: 7/10 – Looks like Spring Training. Wonder if Gullickson wasn’t available the day the other pics were taken? Oh, and I’d love to know who the player in the background is.
Leave a comment

Filed under 1982 Fleer

Leave a Reply

