1982 Fleer #1

Bahnsen
 
1982 Fleer #183
Category:
Former Expo
Position: P
Bio/Summary: I am going to admit I was not familiar with something like 75% of the players in this set, and Bahnsen is one of them. Checking his stats, he looked like a thoroughly serviceable starter and 1968 Rookie of the Year that converted to relief duty upon joining Montreal in 1977 (okay, one year of starting in there). His career rebounded a bit from the move, and he ended up moving over to California in 1982.
Rating: 5/10 – I don’t really know what to make of most of the 1982 Fleer cards and shots. On the one hand, it’s as bland a design as you can get – almost a non-design. At the same time, the photography has some really unique shots…someone once said that Fleer made the players more human, and I’d tend to agree. In this instance, rather than “baseball player”, I see a player chilling out onfield before the game, and what I think is a rare shot from Montreal’s stadium. I give it some extra points for that.
 
Burris
1982 Fleer #184
Category:
Expos Also-Ran
Position: P
Bio/Summary: Burris was a fairly mediocre starter that somehow managed to stick around 15 seasons, going 108-134 with a 4.17 career ERA (in a time when offense was lessened). Still, a career 1.415 WHIP and 92 ERA+? I guess that’s a bit above replacement level. I thought a lefty would be more likely to stick with those numbers, but here Ray is.
Rating: 4/10 – See what I mean about this set? I really want to like this card, but I just can’t get past the flash and the long shadows cast behind Burris. At the same time, again, it just looks like a normal guy rather than an untouchable deity. I like that.
 
Carter
Carter Parker
Carter Valenzuela
1982 Fleer #s 185, 635, 638
Category:
Expos Star
Position: C
Bio/Summary: What else is there to say about Gary? Let’s look at his 1982 season, as one could make an argument that it was the best of his career. He hit 29 homers and batted .293 with an .890 OPS. Very nice, especially for a catcher! That came out to a 146 OPS+. He also had a 134 OPS+ in high-leverage situations! Good stuff.
Rating: Parker and Valenzuela Cards: 6/10 – I’m kind of splitting the difference here. The Parker/Carter card is kind of nice aside from the Cobra’s copious amount of sweat, but I’m irritated that Carter isn’t the center of focus on the Valenzuela card yet gets tagged. He might as well be in the background.
Carter Card: 3/10 – Oh, man, I like Gary Carter a lot, and I really wanted his main set card to be a good one, but I just can’t let the blurry photography (believe me, I cleaned this up a lot) pass. Again, there is some humanity and soul to this shot, but the lousy composition blows it.
 
Cromartie
1982 Fleer  #186
Category:
Expos Lynchpin
Position: OF
Bio/Summary: What an odd story. Cromartie was a pretty good hitter who left the USA for greener (?) pastures in Japan in 1984, returning in 1991 for a swan song with the Royals. The guy was something of a Japanese legend.  Back here in the States, though, he had a good 1982, knocking 14 homers with a .722 OPS. Not stellar for a corner outfielder, but also not bad at all. I guess he did better in Japan, though, and good for him.
Rating: 3/10 – Apologies for some of the crud on the picture here…some dust got on the scanner. Again, crappy photo composition for what would have been a thoroughly decent shot. Oh, well. There are better cards in this team set.
2 Comments

Filed under 1982 Fleer

2 responses to “1982 Fleer #1

  1. I remember a Sporting News cover in the late 70’s with Dawson, Cromartie and Ellis Valentine posing with the caption “Young Flyhawks on the Rise.” It’s really a shame TSN has gone away because it was a great great magazine. I still remember the weekly column on each team would have a notes section at the end with a catchy little title. Your team would have been “Exposures.”

  2. thingpen

    Oh, wow, I’d love to see that sometime. I followed the Sporting News in the late 80s and got hooked…had a subscription up until the early 2000s. I had no idea it had gone away. That’s really sad.

Leave a Reply

