Nationals Star: Jose Vidro, Pt 8

Slowly, ever so slowly, we edge toward the end…

Vidro auto

2005 Leaf Century Postmarks Silver #197
How Did I Get It?:
Won it in an auction at eBay in 2005.
Did You Know?: Vidro was named an All-Star for the first time in his career in 2000.
Rating: 9/10 – Love this card, even if it’s a sticker auto. I mean, look at how the sticker’s color actually fits in with the theme of the card, and it’s stamped, too! I was so thrilled to get this card, and I’m pretty sure I got it for a steal way back when, too.
 
Vidro 05 Donruss
2005 Donruss #249
How Did I Get It?:
Pack of 2005 Donruss in 2005.
Did You Know?: Emiliano Fruto – one of the keys to the Vidro to Seattle trade – is no longer affiliated with a Major League team after being released by the Braves this year.
Rating: 7/10 – I like 2005 Donruss, even if the photo is less than inspired. I like the minimalist layout, and especially the stamped look of the position on the bottom of the card.
 
Vidro Victory
2003 Upper Deck Victory #50
How Did I Get It?:
Got it in a 2003 Victory pack in a repack blaster.
Did You Know?: Chris Snelling, the other piece of the trade, played for Team Australia in this year’s World Baseball Classic.
Rating: 3/10 – Man, that year’s Victory design was not good at all. Just not crazy about any of those cards.
 
Vidro Best

2004 Bowman’s Best #JAV
How Did I Get It?:
Got it in a pack of 2004 Bowman’s Best.
Rating: 5/10 – Bowman’s Best is so weird. I love the autos, but good lord do they make some butt ugly cards. This falls into the “eh, it’s okay” camp, strangely enough. Not as butt ugly as it could be, but not great, either.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nationals Stars

Leave a Reply

