Nationals Star: Ryan Zimmerman #2 (by the numbers)

Today’s Zimmerman cards all have one thing in common: numbered subsets! I’ve been intrigued by these since I got back into cards; the idea of these tiny-print sets out there, and even the idea of trying to collect them, strikes me as interesting.

Zimmerman Beige Heroes

Zimmerman Green Heroes

2008 Baseball Heroes Beige and Green #173
How Did I Get It?:
Bought both on checkoutmycards.net.
Did You Know?: Baseball Heroes was originally introduced in the 1991 Upper Deck set and featured Nolan Ryan.
Rating: 7/10 – Nostalgia factor itself puts this card higher than it normally would. And I have to say I l ike the green design better, so I’m not sure if it bums me out that it’s the larger print; at least I could hopefully stand a chance of putting together a set if I decided to.
 
Zimmerman Piece of History Pink
 
2008 UD A Piece of History Red (?) #100
How Did I Get It?:
Won it on eBay.
Did You Know?: Looks pink to me. Either way, not counting parallels, Zimmerman was featured on nine cards in this set.
Rating: 5/10 – I can’t get over it looking pink. And I’m just not crazy about the design in general. Seems like one of those sets that was purchased more for the inserts than the base.
 
Zimmerman Milestones 7
 
2008 Topps Moments and Milestones #72
How Did I Get It?:
Bought it on checkoutmycards.net.
Did You Know?: Another in the endless list of sets with multiple parallels, there are three parallels for this card: blue, red, and black.
Rating: 8/10 – I like the pyschedelic design around Zimmerman. If you’re going for something other than a pure photograph, this is the kind of thing I like to see: some creativity. Nice design.

 

Zimmerman Milestones 38
 

2007 Topps Moments and Milestones
How Did I Get It?:
Bought it on checkoutmycards.net.
Did You Know?: It’s an indication of how labryinthine this set is that I’m not sure what number it is.
Rating: 7/10 – A classy design and a decent photo that manages to capture his face and a batting pose.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nationals Stars

Leave a Reply

