Not Yet a National: Tyler Clippard

I’m going to be taking a break from team sets for a little while…not sure when I’ll get back to it, as I still have some interesting sets that I want to dig into, but not the time to commit to them yet.

Clippard

2008 Upper Deck Timeline 1992 UD Minor League (WHEW!) #130
Position:
P
Bio/Summary: And isn’t that a mouthful of a name? But I’m a sucker for retro cards that look like cards from my youth, so I’m in. I’m not a huge fan of Clippard, but the guy might have the potential to be a decent middle reliever. I think the most disturbing thing might be that he was really luck with balls in play last season and STILL managed to stink up the joint. That’s quite a feat. But I think they may have moved him to the pen this year and he’s doing a bit better; that’s definitely where I’d leave him.
How Did I Get It?: Won it in an eBay auction.
Did You Know?: He led Yankees farmhands in strikeouts in 2005.
Rating: 6/10 – This card could be so much more without the white stripe obscuring the bottom half of the card. I understand they had to do that to make the auto legible, but I think it really hinders the overall quality of the card.
Leave a comment

Filed under Nationals Prospects

Leave a Reply

