2008 Upper Deck Nats Team Set #4

kearns

Austin Kearns
2008 Upper Deck #169
Category:
Nationals Lynchpin
Position: OF
Bio/Summary: What a frustrating player. I felt really positive about him coming over from the Reds in what should have been a winner of a trade, but he’s not really panned out to be much more than serviceable, if that. Oh, he’s still a cornerstone of the team and all that, but his average, his OBP, just everything, have been mediocre. Oh, and he plays some awful walkup music.
Rating: 7/10 – Reminds me of the old school baseball cards where we saw people signing cards. I like it.

lannan

John Lannan
2008 Upper Deck #163
Category:
Nationals Prospect
Position: SP
Bio/Summary: At least, I think he still qualifies as a prospect. I’m not 100% sure. He’s definitely not a failure, though. I first saw him pitching with Potomac back in…I guess it was 06? And thought he was pretty special. Since then, he’s done nothing but continue to impress, even if the beginning of this year has been a bit rocky.
Rating: 7/10 – Great picture, capturing him mid-delivery.

lo-duca

Paul Lo Duca
2008 Upper Deck #693
Category:
Nationals Has-Been
Position: C
Bio/Summary: One of the guys fingered during the whole Mitchell Report debacle, I didn’t like the Lo Duca signing when it happened, and he never really produced for the team either (as expected – Bowden…). I mean, a 54 OPS+? Yeah, there’s a reason they cut the cord on him. A total douche on top of it.
Rating: 6/10 – Another one of those “Nats in front of red shots”. I docked a point from it for being Lo Duca, though.

logan

Nook Logan
2008 Upper Deck #170
Category:
Fringe Player
Position: OF
Bio/Summary: I never understood the decision to start this guy everyday. Manny Acta’s a smart guy when it comes to sabermetrics, so surely he had to understand that a .304 OBP wasn’t going to cut it. I mean, yeah, I saw the guy do some exciting things on the basepaths in 07, but if you can’t get on base, you can’t do that stuff. Another one of many head-scratching decisions by the Nats over the last four years.
Rating: 7/10 – Neat picture showing the spring training complex in the background and the dugout. I like these little slice-of-life shots.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2008 Upper Deck Team Set

Leave a Reply

